Superiors and Leaders

Agnes Campbell (Sister Saint Ann Carmelita)

Agnes Campbell (Sister Saint Ann Carmelita)
Congregation Leader from 2016 to today

Agnes Campbell was born in Sydney, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. She was the third child in a family of ten. During her elementary and high school education at Holy Redeemer (Whitney Pier) and Holy Angels (Sydney), most of her teachers were sisters of the Congregation de Notre-Dame. Other CND influences in her life were her two aunts who were also members of the Congregation, Sister Saint Aurelius (Catherine Ann MacDonald) and Sister Saint Agnes of the Redeemer (Theresa MacDonald).

After graduating from high school, she attended Xavier Junior College in Sydney and completed her first year of University studies. Sister Agnes made her profession in 1960 and then attended Saint Francis Xavier University where she obtained her teacher’s license. From 1961 to 1996, she worked as a teacher and/or administrator in the Nova Scotia school system. During that period she served part time for four years on the Council of Saint Joseph Province and also obtained her Bachelor of Education degree from Saint Francis Xavier University. For six years she worked full time in youth ministry as a member of a parish pastoral team. After a year of study at Saint Paul’s University in Ottawa she received a diploma in Theology.

In 1996 she retired from teaching and attended McGill University where she received her Bachelor of Arts in Social Work in 1997. That same year she was elected associate to the provincial leader of Saint Joseph Province and served for four years. In 2001, she was elected councillor for the newly formed Visitation Province and served until 2005. In 2006, she became the local leader of Holy Redeemer Convent until 2011 when she was elected to the General Administration. In August 2016, she was elected Congregation leader.
 


The members of the General Council of the Congregation

The members of the General Council of the Congregation, Montreal, Quebec, 1874. Archives Congrégation de Notre-Dame - Montréal.

Marguerite Ouellet (Sister Sainte-Marguerite-des-Vertus)

Marguerite Ouellet (Sister Sainte-Marguerite-des-Vertus)
Superior general from 1970 to 1974

Marguerite Ouellet, named sœur Sainte-Marguerite-des-Vertus, was born in Montreal on July 12, 1912 and died there on July 12, 1995. She studied at the convent school of the Congregation in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. She entered the postulatory on August 26, 1932, but had to interrupt her vocation formation because of illness. In 1942, she returned to the novitiate and pronounced her vows on August 19, 1943. She began a career in teaching that lasted 25 years, 21 of which were in universities. During the last 12 of those years, she occupied Directorships in domestic science schools, like the one affiliated with the University of Ottawa, which she founded and directed from 1956. In 1970, she was elected Superior General of the Congregation for a four-year term. Her term in office took place when the educational system was being reformed and she contributed to the future of the private educational institutions of the Congregation. After her term in office, her active life continued for another 20 years. She participated in such activities as pastoral ministries in Montreal and in France.


Louise Côté (Sister Sainte-Marie-Claire-des-Anges)

Louise Côté (Sister Sainte-Marie-Claire-des-Anges)
Superior general from 1974 to 1984

Louise Côté, named Sainte-Marie-Claire-des-Anges was born in Windsor (Quebec). She attended Notre-Dame school in her home town and then the Normal School in Sherbrooke. She entered the novitiate in Montreal and pronounced her vows in 1950. With a Bachelor’s degree in Pedagogy and a Degree in Literature and Language, she taught at the secondary school level in the boarding schools of the Congregation as well as Rhetoric at the Collège Marguerite-Bourgeoys. She contributed to the research process in view of the organization of the ministries of the Congregation. In 1967, she travelled on mission to Honduras for several months. In 1970, she was elected Councillor and General Bursar, before becoming Superior General four years later. During her term in office, which lasted until 1984, Marguerite Bourgeoys was canonized (1982) and a mission was founded in Troyes, France, the birthplace of Marguerite Bourgeoys (1981). Sister Louise Côté was also President of the Canadian Religious Conference and Councillor for French Canada of the International Union of Superiors General. From 1985 to 1990, she was Secretary General at the International Union of Superiors General in Rome. Back in Canada, she was Superior of the Missionnaires de la prière et de la pénitence from 1990 to 1992, as mandated by the Archbishop of Gatineau-Hull. She then spent four years at the Solitude Notre-Dame-des-Bois. In 1996, she was transferred to France, first in Estissac, then in Méry-sur-Seine and in Troyes. Since 1999, she is the Episcopal Delegate for Consecrated Life, Directress of the Diocesan Council on Religious Life and member of the Episcopal Council.


Madeleine Rochette (Sister Sainte-Hélène-de-Brabant)

Madeleine Rochette (Sister Sainte-Hélène-de-Brabant)
Superior general from 1984 to 1996

Madeleine Rochette, named sœur Sainte-Hélène-de-Brabant, was born in Saint-Augustin-de-Portneuf (Quebec). She attended Congregation schools and toward the end of her secondary studies, became interested in contemplative life. She was encouraged to continue her studies and went to the Normal School in Saint-Pascal from 1958 to1961. After entering the novitiate in Beauport in 1960, she continued her pedagogical formation during her juniorate, and obtained a Bachelor’s degree and a licence from the Université de Montreal. She gave classical instruction at the secondary school level and then returned to her Alma Mater in Saint-Pascal to study education; she later worked in the same field at the École normale de Montréal. She went on to graduate studies and obtained a Masters degree in education in 1969. The following year, she became professor at the Faculty of Education at the University of Ottawa, while obtaining her Doctorate in Education, which she completed in 1975. She became Provincial Superior from 1978 until she was elected Superior General of the Congregation in 1984. At the end of her second term, which ended in 1996, she was transferred to the Communauté Nazareth where she worked at Le Bourg-Joie and at the Saint-Roch Parish. Throughout her career, she contributed to numerous religious and school organizations. Currently, she is Provincial Leader of the Marguerite-Bourgeoys Province.


Syndicate content

Supérieures et animatrices

Agnes Campbell (Soeur Saint Ann Carmelita)

Agnes Campbell (Soeur Saint Ann Carmelita)
Leader de la Congrégation de 2016 à aujourd’hui

Agnes Campbell est née à Sydney, sur l’Île du Cap-Breton, en Nouvelle-Écosse, la troisième enfant d’une famille de dix. Pendant ses études primaires et secondaires aux écoles Holy Redeemer (Whitney Pier) et Holy Angels (Sydney), la plupart de ses enseignantes sont des sœurs de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. Deux autres membres de la CND, sœur Saint Aurelius (Catherine Ann MacDonal) et sœur Saint Agnes of the Redeemer (Theresa MacDonald), exerceront une influence sur sa vie.

Après ses études secondaires, elle fréquente le Xavier Junior College à Sydney et complète sa première année universitaire. Après avoir prononcé ses premiers vœux en 1960, elle s’inscrit à la Saint Francis Xavier University où elle obtient un brevet d’enseignement. De 1961 à 1996, elle travaille comme enseignante ou administratrice au sein du système scolaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Au cours de cette période, elle exerce un mandat de quatre ans à temps partiel comme membre du conseil de la province Saint-Joseph et obtient un baccalauréat en éducation de la Saint Francis Xavier University. Membre d’une équipe pastorale provinciale, elle se consacre à temps plein durant six ans au ministère des jeunes. Après une année d’études à l’Université Saint-Paul à Ottawa, elle acquiert un diplôme en théologie.

En 1996, elle se retire de l’enseignement et s’inscrit à l’Université McGill où elle termine son baccalauréat en travail social en 1997. La même année, elle est élue adjointe à la Leader de la province Saint-Joseph pour un mandat de quatre ans, puis, en 2001, membre du conseil de la nouvelle province Visitation. Après avoir assumé ce mandat jusqu’en 2005, elle devient la Leader locale du couvent Holy Redeemer en 2006. Elle occupera ce poste jusqu’en 2011, au moment de son élection à l’Administration générale. En août 2016, elle est élue Leader de la Congrégation.


Conseil général de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame

Conseil général de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame, Montréal, Québec, 1874. Archives Congrégation de Notre-Dame - Montréal.

Présentation

La Congrégation de Notre-Dame a été dirigée par 40 supérieures, appelées aujourd’hui animatrices, dont certaines ont assumé plusieurs mandats. Elles n’ont pas seulement été les administratrices responsables d’un groupe longtemps en expansion, mais surtout les gardiennes de l’identité et de la mission de l’institution fondée par Marguerite Bourgeoys.

Louise Côté (Soeur Sainte-Marie-Claire-des-Anges)

Louise Côté (Soeur Sainte-Marie-Claire-des-Anges)
Supérieure générale de 1974 à 1984

Louise Côté, dite sœur Sainte-Marie-Claire-des-Anges, est née à Windsor (Québec). Elle fréquente l'école Notre-Dame dans sa ville natale et, ensuite, l'École normale de Sherbrooke. Elle entre au noviciat à Montréal et fait profession en 1950. Munie d'un baccalauréat en pédagogie et d'une licence ès lettres, elle enseigne au niveau secondaire dans des pensionnats de la Congrégation et, en rhétorique, au Collège Marguerite-Bourgeoys. Elle participe à une recherche en vue de la planification des œuvres de la Congrégation. En 1967, elle bénéficie d'un stage de quelques mois au Honduras. En 1970, elle est élue conseillère et économe générale, avant d'être élue supérieure générale quatre ans plus tard. Sous sa direction, des sœurs de la Congrégation fondent en 1981 une mission en France, à Troyes, lieu de naissance de Marguerite Bourgeoys. La canonisation de la fondatrice a lieu pendant son mandat qui se termine en 1984. Sœur Louise a été présidente de la Conférence religieuse canadienne et conseillère, pour le Canada français, de l'Union internationale des supérieures générales. Jusqu'en 1990, elle est à Rome au siège de l'Union internationale des Supérieures générales; à partir de 1985, elle en est la secrétaire générale. De retour au Canada, elle est, de 1990 à 1992, supérieure des Missionnaires de la Prière et de la Pénitence, par mandat de l'archevêque de Gatineau-Hull. Elle passe ensuite quatre années à la Solitude Notre-Dame-des-Bois. En 1996, elle est nommée en France, d'abord à Estissac, puis à Méry-sur-Seine et à Troyes. Depuis 1999, elle est déléguée épiscopale pour la Vie consacrée, responsable du Conseil diocésain de la Vie religieuse et membre du Conseil épiscopal.


Madeleine Rochette (Soeur Sainte-Hélène-de-Brabant)

Madeleine Rochette (Soeur Sainte-Hélène-de-Brabant)
Supérieure générale de 1984 à 1996

Madeleine Rochette, dite sœur Sainte-Hélène-de-Brabant, est née à Saint-Augustin-de-Portneuf (Québec). Elle fait ses études à la Congrégation et vers la fin du cours secondaire, elle est attirée par la vie contemplative. Elle est encouragée à poursuivre ses études, ce qu'elle fait à l'École normale de Saint-Pascal de 1958 à 1961. Après sa profession au noviciat de Beauport en 1960, elle poursuit pendant le juniorat sa formation en pédagogie et obtient un baccalauréat et une licence de l'Université de Montréal. Elle enseigne au cours secondaire classique, puis retourne à son Alma Mater à Saint-Pascal pour la formation des maîtres; elle œuvrera ensuite dans le même domaine à l'École normale de Montréal. Elle continue ses études supérieures et décroche une maîtrise en éducation en 1969. Elle enseigne l'année suivante à la Faculté d'éducation de l'Université d'Ottawa, pendant ses études de doctorat en éducation qu'elle complète en 1975. Elle remplit la fonction de supérieure provinciale de 1978 jusqu'à sa nomination comme supérieure générale de la Congrégation en 1984. Suite à un deuxième mandat qui s'achève en 1996, elle est nommée à la Communauté Nazareth où elle vaque à plusieurs tâches au centre Le Bourg-Joie et à la paroisse Saint-Roch (Québec). Au cours de sa carrière, elle participe à de nombreux regroupements religieux et scolaires et assure la présidence de certains d'entre eux. Elle est présentement animatrice de la province Marguerite-Bourgeoys.


Syndiquer le contenu