Keyword Search

Search results

Couvent Saint-Malo

... a three-story annex with twenty-four classrooms and a chapel which was on the ground floor. The older building was renovated and ...

École Marguerite-Bourgeoys

... to a new residence, known as Maison Notre-Dame, on Chapel Street. In 1983, this became a residence for the English speaking ...

Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel. Quite a saga!

The story of Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel is in itself another “foolish adventure” full of twists ... and… by destiny. Marguerite dreams of a chapel of pilgrimage dedicated to the Blessed Virgin. She would like it ...

École Saint-François-Xavier / École Notre-Dame-des-Écoles

... three classrooms as well as an apartment and a chapel for the Sisters. In 1956, another building with six classrooms was ...

Pilgrimages to Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel: interview with Sister Patricia Simpson

... Patricia Simpson presents the oldest object in the chapel , the statuette of Notre Dame de Bon Secours. Since 1655, Marguerite Bourgeoys has wanted to build a chapel. But, upon their arrival, the Sulpicians suspend the construction ...

Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel: interview with Sister Patricia Simpson

... two years, Marguerite Bourgeoys promises to erect a chapel . After she wins the support of all the important people in the area, she finds a beautiful site for the chapel on the shore of the river. She persuades the people of Montreal to ...

1800-1899

Sailors’ chapel < As the port expands at the end of the XVIIIth and XIXth century, the chapel becomes a popular place of prayer for sailors. The miniature ships hanging from the chapel’s vaulted ceiling recall the sailors’ devotion to ...

1700-1799

... strikes: a devastating fire completely destroys the chapel . The day after the blaze, the small statue of the Virgin and Child ... context of the Post-Conquest, the rebuilding of the chapel does not constitute a priority for the clergy . However, there ...

Construction of Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel

... Marguerite Bourgeoys undertook the construction of a chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary on the edge of the Saint Lawrence River ... only in 1675 and was completed three years later. The chapel became the first stone chapel built on the island of Montreal. ...

Agreement between Jeanne Le Ber and the Sisters of the Congrégation to build a chapel with an apartment where she could live her life as a recluse

... Congrégation de Notre-Dame were planning to build a chapel attached to their convent , she proposed to finance its ... with a condition attached: that adjacent to this chapel there would be an apartment where she could live in seclusion. On August 5, 1695, the day of the chapel’s inauguration, Jeanne entered her new quarters. This benefactor of the ...